Not Your Ordinary Grilled Cheese

31 May

Last week, I decided that summer had arrived and it was time to eat some sandwiches!  I made several BLT sandwiches, which are a summer favorite of mine.  However, I was in search of other sandwich ideas and here is one that I found.

Grilly Girl Cheesy Turkey & Bacon ‘Wich

Cheese and bacon!

Ingredients

  • 1 slice center-cut bacon or turkey bacon (I used Oscar Meyer Pre-Cooked Bacon)
  • 1/2 tbsp. fat-free mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tbsp. sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, drained and chopped
  • 1/8 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 2 slices light bread
  • 2 oz. reduced-sodium lean turkey breast slices
  • 1 slice fat-free cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp. light whipped butter or light buttery spread, divided (I used I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray)

Directions

  1. Cook bacon according to package instructions, either in the microwave or in a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray. Once cool enough to handle, break or cut bacon in half and set aside.
  2. To make the sauce, combine mayo, sun-dried tomatoes, and Italian seasoning in a small bowl. Mix well.

    Not your ordinary mayo!!

    Spread sauce on one slice of bread and top with bacon, turkey, and cheese.

    Layers of tasty ingredients.

    Place the other slice of bread on top, and press gently to seal. Spread 1/2 tsp. butter on the upward-facing slice of bread.

  3. With the buttered side down, place sandwich in a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray. Then spread remaining 1/2 tsp. butter on the upward-facing bread slice. Bring the skillet to medium-high heat on the stove. Cook for 2 minutes. Gently flip and cook for 1 additional minute, or until both sides are hot and toasty. Slice in half or bite right in!

MAKES 1 SERVING

Amanda’s Rating: “This sandwich was so flavorful!!! I was not prepared for the flavor that was packed between these two pieces of bread. I would love to eat this again and I was very sad when this one was gone.  Next time, I would make sure that the sides that accompany this sandwich do not have flavors that compete with the flavors of the sandwich.  Cottage cheese and plain baked chips would be good choices.”

**Taken from

 

Leave a comment