Breakfast or Dinner?

10 Jun

I wanted to make this for a long time, but I couldn’t decide whether to make it for breakfast or dinner…so one night I took the plunge and made it for dinner.  I had a really hard time deciding what to eat with it…but I should have just made two!  Yes, I know that breakfast is part of its name.

Sausage-Stuffed Breakfast Grilled Cheese

20130610-181742.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 frozen meatless or turkey sausage patty with 80 calories or less (I used Jimmy Dean turkey sausage crumbles)
  • 2 slices light bread
  • 2 tsp. light whipped butter or light buttery spread, room temperature (I used I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray)
  • 1 slice fat-free American cheese (I used cheddar, because cheddar make everything better!!!)
  • 1 wedge The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss cheese
  • 2 tbsp. sugar-free pancake syrup

Directions

  1. Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat on the stove. Add patty and cook until hot and cooked through, about 4 minutes per side. Once cool enough to handle, roughly chop and set aside. (I microwaved sausage crumbles.)
  2. Lay bread slices flat and evenly spread the upward-facing sides with butter. Flip slices over. Evenly top one slice with American cheese and chopped sausage. Spread the other slice of bread with the cheese wedge, and then place it on top of the first slice, buttered side up. Set aside.
  3. If needed, clean and dry skillet. Re-spray skillet and bring to medium-high heat on the stove. Gently place sandwich in the skillet and cook until lightly browned on the outside and hot on the inside, about 2 minutes per side, flipping carefully with a spatula.
  4. Place syrup in a small microwave-safe bowl, and microwave for 20 seconds, or until very warm. Serve sandwich with syrup for dunking.
  5. Enjoy!

MAKES 1 SERVING

Amanda’s Rating: Good SpoonGood SpoonGood SpoonGood SpoonGood Spoon“Delicious!!! The syrup is a must! I suggest eating it for breakfast.”

**Taken from Hungry Girl

Leave a comment